Wow, it seems almost a daily occurrence that my friends on Facebook are posting urgent warnings about Facebook stealing your soul and selling it to France. Come on people, some of these hysterical status updates don’t even make sense.

The latest one I’ve seen asks me to go through the motions of unsubscribing to her feed, to remove her posts and comments from my sidebar and, therefore (apparently), stop her posts and comments from being broadcast to the moon. Or something.

Actually, it looked just exactly like this:

Hover over my name above. In a few seconds you will see a box that says “Subscribed”. Hover over that, then go to “Comments and Likes” and… unclick it. This will stop my posts AND YOURS to me from showing up on the side bar for the whole world to see, but most importantly, it limits hackers from invading our profiles.

Why is it so obvious to me that all this would do would be to block her posts and comments from my feed? Actually, more to the point why is this not obvious to her and all the people who have liked her post and commented they have done it? When will she realise no one is seeing her posts anymore?

facebook engancha

